BRUCE WESTERMAN OF ARKANSAS RANKING REPUBLICAN

DAVID WATKINS STAFF DIRECTOR

U.S. House of Representatives

VIVIAN MOEGLEIN REPUBLICAN STAFF DIRECTOR

Committee on Natural Resources Washington, DC 20515

September 12, 2022

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker U.S. House of Representatives H-232, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Steny Hoyer Majority Leader U.S. House of Representatives H-107, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leader Hoyer:

The permitting and public notice and comment provisions mandated by the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) are among the only tools local communities have to force careful review of federal projects that may have serious, long-term, environmental, and public health consequences in those communities. Congress should continue to provide increased funding to assist federal agencies in completing the NEPA process but *attempts to short-circuit or undermine the law in the name of "reform" must be opposed.*

According to media reports, there is agreement to advance a series of anti-environmental and anti-environmental justice provisions through the House, at the behest of the American Petroleum Institute (API). These destructive provisions will allow polluting manufacturing and energy development projects to be rushed through before the families who are forced to live near them are even aware of the plans.

The proposed legislation would restrict public access to the courts to seek remedies against illegal project development; place arbitrary limits on the amount of time the public is given to comment on polluting projects; and curtail public input, environmental review, and government accountability. Additionally, the API plan would require a certain number of harmful fossil fuel projects to be designated as "projects of strategic national importance" to receive priority federal support, assistance, and expedited environmental review. These permitting "reforms" would weaken other important public health protections, including the Clean Water Act and more.

We remain deeply concerned that these serious and detrimental permitting provisions will significantly and disproportionately impact low-income communities, indigenous communities, and communities of color. The inclusion of these provisions in a continuing resolution, or any other must-pass legislation, would silence the voices of frontline and environmental justice communities by insulating them from scrutiny. Such a move would force Members to choose between protecting EJ communities from further pollution or funding the government.

We urge you to ensure that these provisions are kept out of a continuing resolution or any other must-pass legislation this year.

Sincerely,

	01 .
Day! W.	Chale,
La Color	100
D (1) M (C '' 1	•

Raúl M. Grijalva

Chair

House Committee on Natural Resources

Man Lowenthal

Chair

Subcommittee on Energy and Mineral Resources

Katie Porter

Chair

Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations

Napolitano

Ed Lase

Ed Case

Member of Congress

Grace Napolitano Member of Congress

Melanie A. Stansbury Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress Jared Huffman

Chair

Subcommittee on Water, Oceans, and Wildlife

Joe Neguse

Chair

Subcommittee on National Parks, Forests, and Public Lands

Donald M'Eachin

A. Donald McEachin

Member of Congress

Nydia Velázquez Member of Congress

Steve Cohen

Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib

Member of Congress

Hesús G. "Chuy" García

Member of Congress

Daven Arts
Darren Soto

Member of Congress

Michael F. Q. San Nicolas Member of Congress

Carolyn B. Malors

Carolyn B. Maloney Member of Congress

Mark Takano
Member of Congress

/s/ Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

John Yarmuth Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress hilli

Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan Member of Congress

errold Hallen

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

Maxine Waters
Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Gerald "Jerry" McNerney Member of Congress Grace Meng

Member of Congress

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Vette D. Clarke
Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Madeleine Stean

Tony Cardenas
Member of Congress

Lucille Roybal-Allard Member of Congress

Lwille Roybal Allard

Illian Omar Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Nanete Diaz Baragán

Nanette Díaz Barragán Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Darnyd. Davis

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Alma Adams Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress and M. Cullie

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Karen Bass

Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Bonni WatsurColeman

Andrew "Andy" Levin Member of Congress

Dean Phillips Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Cori Bush Member of Congress Jason Crow Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Shontel Brown
Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Gwen Moore Member of Congress

Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

Mondaire Jones / Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

/s/ John Sarbanes Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu

Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Abigail Spanberger Member of Congress

Jackie Speier

Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

/s/ André Carson

Member of Congress

/s/ Hank Johnson Member of Congress

Anthony G. Brown Member of Congress

David Trone

Member of Congress